I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

Let me just say that I was completely and pleasantly surprised with this book and it is more than I hoped it would be. Initially I was pulled in by the quirky front-cover and the promise of an American small town backdrop but I’ll Meet You There is so much more than that.

Cue the stubborn and strong Skylar, who has become somewhat of a carer for her mother since her father was killed in a drunk-driving incident. The plot begins just after graduation and Skylar has a full scholarship to college in San Francisco, where she can immerse herself in collages and escape her hometown of Creek View. But as her departure date looms near, her mother begins another one of her dark descents, and this time Skylar isn’t sure she can pull her out of it. Now cue the once charismatic play-boy, Josh Mitchell, who has returned from war in Afghanistan missing so much more than the leg he lost. When the former motel co-workers reconnect, there’s an undeniable understanding between them but Josh is fighting inner demons of his own and may not be what Skylar needs. “What am I supposed to do when I’m bad for the one good thing in my life?”

As much as I love a tough, kick-ass female protagonist, it was Josh’s character that stuck with me the most. The interchanging chapters between his and Skylar’s perspective gave an insight into the Post Traumatic Stress Disorder that affects war veterans, and how he deals with the loss of his leg and best friend. This is a truly powerful novel that explores family relationships, unlikely romances, and the aftermath of war. It is so much more than a book about a small town couple. It’s about finding that one person who can pull you out of the darkness, who can take all of your broken pieces and put them back together again.

Leave a comment