The Memory Book by Lara Avery

Not much is likely. Anything is possible.

This is definitely tying for my favourite YA contemporary this year, alongside Matthew Quick’s Every Exquisite Thing. This is an absolute hidden gem for me and seriously, you need to read this right now. It’s raw, beautiful, realistic, and brimming with emotion. This book is everything. I cannot even express how much I enjoyed it without sounding like a rambling mess.

From reading the blurb of this book, I was like, yep, this is going to be sad. Like, The Fault in Our Stars kind of sad. A girl who is diagnosed with a rare disease that causes memory loss does not equate to a happy ending to me. I’m not going to lull you into false pretenses here because it is sad, but it’s also hopeful. It shows the innocent and pure side of young love in a completely real and true way. The romance in this book is really something else. The way Avery portrays first and last loves is next level. She shows that life is fleeting and short, and there is nothing more important in life than love, family, and friendship.

There’s really nothing not to love about Sam as a character. She is honest, up-front, realistic, smart, and really funny. I love how real she is and how mature she is for her age.

I think people fake that they’re having fun a lot of the time in photos, because they want people to think they’re having fun. Well, that’s not life, is it?

Most importantly she was brave and she took chances. How someone remains so positive when going through what she does is beyond me. As for Cooper, he is nothing short of perfect. He is sweet, kind, and selfless. The romance in this is absolutely realistic and beautiful:

How weird it is that you have no idea what love is until it happens, and then you’re like that’s it, wow, there it is! It was there the whole time.

Not only is this full of amazing characters but it is beautifully written. I loved the concept of this being a memoir/diary/journal for Sam. It was incredibly easy to read and being told directly from her perspective just drew me into the story even more. Needless to say that Sam’s story is one that will stay with me for a long time. Cannot recommend this book enough!

Leave a comment